There are more recent reviews which I’m in the process of adding if you want them now just email us.

Fabulous place and hosts

                                                5 out of 5

Sarah D.

We have had a fabulous holiday really relaxing location but plenty in the area to do with the children or simply relax by the pool.

Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2015 Date of Stay: Aug 2015 Source: HomeAway

Charming Gites in lovely countryside

4 out of 5

Jonathan R.
Myself, two grown up daughters plus my brother and sister-in-law had a wonderful week in Gites de Papillon. The village of Segur le Chateaux is fabulous and one of the officially nominated most beautiful villages in France. Mondays in the village feature a local festival in season with long table seating and local producers selling great food and wine etc. to eat at your outdoor table. The corner shop is where you order your croissants and pain au chocolat for the following day. Fabulous lake with beach and great restaurant 20 minutes away. Local kayaking down the Dronne River is great. Love this area.
Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2015 Date of Stay: Aug 2015 Source: HomeAway

A wonderful place for a family holiday

5 out of 5

Nick T.
We are family of 5 (kids 10, 8 and 1) and we had the most wonderful holiday. Our 8 year old cried on the penultimate day as his holiday was coming to an end. The Gîte and hosts were both amazing. Lots to do within an hour’s drive. We had a great variety of days out ranging from beautiful lakes, villages, swimming pools and plenty of long lunches. Can’t recommend Papillion Gites enough.

Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2015 Date of Stay: Jul 2015 Source: HomeAway

Elodie

Séjour très agréable dans une région dépaysante! Le lieu de vie est coupé de la vie citadine… idéal pour les vacances ! Les hôtes sont très sympas et le gîte est bien aménagé. Merci.

Very pleasant stay in an exotic region! The living space is cut off from city life … perfect for the holidays! The hosts are very friendly and the cottage is well equipped. Thank you
Review submitted August 2015 Source: AirBnB

A week definitely wasn’t long enough!

5 out of 5

Teresa R.

A truly beautiful location – fabulous countryside, charming medieval villages, excellent roads – although cycling would be for the more energetic (very hilly!)

The Gîte is beautifully decorated and has everything that you could possibly want…….

The only very tiny fly in the ointment was the very large family group with dogs in the adjacent Gîte who did dominate the pool and surround but it wasn’t really too bad and we did settle into an unofficial sharing regime regarding the pool!
Martin Comment: this was unfortunate and the only time it has happen. We were asked at the last minute to allow extra people to stay at the gîte.  If we were asked again we would definitely say no.

Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2015 Date of Stay: Jul 2015 Source: HomeAway

”The Perfect Getaway”

5 out of 5

Meg from Colchester           
We had a fabulous week in the Gîte de Monarque enjoying its excellent facilities, the tranquility of the area and also the easy access to our old holiday haunts of the Dordogne… We thoroughly enjoyed the evening farmer’s market in Segur Le Chateau as well as the horse racing at Pompadour. Kayaking on the River Dronne starting at Brantome (Brantome Canoe) is highly recommended although a change of clothes is a definite necessity! We had 3 children in their early 20s with us and they loved every minute of this holiday which says it all! We look forward to returning.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2014 Date of Stay: Jul 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers